Nemo Me Impune Lacessit

Friday, 7 February 2020

Please Vote “NO!” on SB 5 (the “red flag” bill)

Filed under: Politics, Self-Defense — Tags: , , , , — mikewb1971 @ 8:59 AM (08:59)

From: Mike Blessing
Date: Fri, Feb 7, 2020, 08:59
Subject: Please Vote “NO!” on SB 5 (the “red flag” bill)
To: John Arthur Smith <john.smith@nmlegis.gov>,
     Mary Kay Papen <marykay.papen@nmlegis.gov>,
     John Sapien <john.sapien@nmlegis.gov>,
     Pete Campos <pete.campos@nmlegis.gov>,
     Benny Shendo <benny.shendo@nmlegis.gov>,
     Gabriel Ramos <gabriel.ramos@nmlegis.gov>,
     Richard Martinez <richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov>,
     Roberto Gonzales <roberto.gonzales@nmlegis.gov>,
     Shannon Pinto <shannon.pinto@nmlegis.gov>,
     Clemente Sanchez <clemente.sanchez@nmlegis.gov>

Dear Senators,

I am writing to thank Senator Richard Martinez for voting against SB 5 in the previous committees, the “red flag” bill, and to urge the rest this committee and the State Senate to vote likewise against this atrocious, anti-freedom piece of legislation.

SB 5 tramples the freedoms that are supposed to be protected by the Second, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, and Seventh Amendments, as follows:

* It allows for the forcible disarmament of people who need to have firearms the most — the five-foot, 100-pound woman being stalked by a deranged, six-foot, 200-pound ex-boyfriend who calls law enforcement and tells them that she’s “suicidal.”

* The bill allows for ex parte proceedings to take place, where the respondent is not only denied the right to offer a defense to the court, but the respondent is not even aware that the proceedings are taking place. Thus the respondent is denied the chance to confront his or her accuser, or to call witnesses in his or her defense.

Thank you for listening to my views.

Mike Blessing
Albuquerque, New Mexico


FOR FURTHER REFERENCE

  1. New Mexico State Legislature, 2020 Regular Session: SB 5 Extreme Risk Protection Order Act

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: